Prokofiev: The War Sonatas / Boris Giltburg

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Putting my head above a parapet, I have to say that these performances of Prokofiev's three 'War' Sonatas… eclipse all others on record – even those tirelessly and justifiably celebrated performances by Richter and Gilels… [Giltburg's] blistering, all-inclusive technique allows him to range from the merest whisper… to an elemental uproar that never degenerates into coarseness or mere violence.

– Gramophone

5 Stars (out of 5)
“Giltburg brings them right up to date with playing of terrific panache and personality, digging deep into the fabric of the music to illuminate its emotional content and harnessing an authoritative bravura to underline the savagery and nervy energy that the scores often convey… These are powerful, intuitive performances, executed with stylistic understanding and arresting presence.” – The Telegraph (UK)

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ORC100023

  • UPC: 5060189560233

  • Label: Orchid Classics

  • Composer: Sergei Prokofiev

  • Performer: Boris Giltburg