Rautavaara: Lost Landscapes - Works for Violin & Orchestra / Lamsma, Revino, Malmö Symphony Orchestra

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Conductor Robert Trevino’s fourth album release on Ondine is focused on the late works of composer Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928–2016), one of Finland’s most celebrated composers after Sibelius and known worldwide for his Neo-Romantic, even mystic compositions. Together with violinist Simone Lamsma and the Malmö Symphony Orchestra the artists are presenting four final orchestral works by the celebrated composer. Two of the works are world première recordings. In his late period, Rautavaara received several communications from the world’s leading violinists requesting him to write works for them. He was able to oblige them, creating several extensive works featuring solo violin. Fantasia (2015) for violin and orchestra is a work of soft Neo-Romantic harmonies and soaring melodic lines. In 2014, Rautavaara was asked to write a new Violin Concerto. This commission resulted in Deux Sérénades for violin and orchestra which remained unfinished at Rautavaara’s death: the second movement was sketched out, but only its beginning was orchestrated. Kalevi Aho (b. 1949), an accomplished composer of symphonies and concertos who studied composition with Rautavaara at the turn of the 1970s, fleshed out the orchestration in 2018. Lost Landscapes(2005/15) was originally written as a violin sonata, but Rautavaara began orchestrating the work in 2013.The first movement was premiered at the contemporary music festival at Tanglewood in July 2015,but the full premiere of the work took place in Malmö in March 2021, with Simone Lamsma as soloist. In the Beginning (2015) is a concise overture-type work commissioned for a concert opener. The titles of his works were important for the composer, forming part of the ‘aura’ of the work and often even constituting the initial impulse for writing the piece in the first place.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1405-2

  • UPC: 761195140529

  • Label: Ondine

  • Period: 21st Century

  • Composer: Einojuhani Rautavaara

  • Conductor: Robert Trevino

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Malmö Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Simone Lamsma