Ravel, Brahms & Shostakovich: Arc II

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This album strives to understand the varying ways composers comprehend grief, loss and death. How did they cope, their hearts broken, their peace gone? And how can we cope? In this combination of works Weiss has tried to follow the paths these great composers walked in their own grief. Their tracks lead us from death back towards life, from horror to hope. Of his Arc album series, Orion Weiss explains: ‘The arc of this recital trilogy is inverted, like a rainbow’s reflection in water. Arc I’s first steps here head downhill, beginning from hope and proceeding down to despair. The bottom of the journey, Arc II, is Earth’s center, grief, loss, the lowest we can reach. The return trip, Arc III, is one of excitement and renewal, filled with the joy of rebirth and the anticipation of a better future.’

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 11, 2022

  • Catalog Number: FHR128

  • UPC: 5060216346328

  • Label: First Hand Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms, Maurice Ravel, Dmitri Shostakovich

  • Performer: Orion Weiss