Reeves: Blue Sounds / Hicks

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Blue Sounds is a set of meditations on a color - from its abstractness as an electromagnetic wave to Blues as a scale, a genre and a harmonic structure. All three works were written for Tom Hicks and mark a growth in fluency and an experimental approach to the sonority of the piano. Camden Reeves has written for several instrumental groupings but the piano has been a vital part of his life since the age of 5. Included amongst his many activities, he was appointed Composition Fellow with the Hallé orchestra at the age of 22 and is currently Head of Music and Senior Lecturer in Composition at the University of Manchester. Hailed as an artist of ‘magnificent pianism’, Guernsey-born pianist Tom Hicks has been praised for his ‘gorgeously creative playing’ that ‘transports the listener to another place and time’. Hicks is a gold medalist in numerous national and international competitions and holds degrees and awards from The University of Manchester, The Royal Northern College of Music, Yale University and Northwestern University, where he now lectures. His first disc featuring John Ireland’s Sarnia, ‘Tom Hicks: Ireland and Tchaikovsky’ has been described as ‘brilliantly evocative’ by Colin Clarke in International Piano, and ‘gorgeously creative’ by Scott Noriega in Fanfare. This new album follows his March 2022 album centered around the Liszt and Ireland piano sonatas and works by Clarke, Coleridge-Taylor and Stanford.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 13, 2022

  • Catalog Number: MSV28604

  • UPC: 809730860423

  • Label: Metier

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Camden Reeves

  • Performer: Tom Hicks