Roman: To the Northern Star

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Flauguissimo duo, Yu-Wei Hu and Johan Löfving are joined by violinist Magdalena Loth-Hill, soprano Emily Atkinson, and viola da gamba player Henrik Persson for this recording of eighteenth-century sonatas, arias and trios by Johan Helmich Roman. Frequently hailed by later historians as the Father of Swedish Music, Roman started his career at the Royal Chapel of the Swedish Court, and also spent time studying and performing in London, where it is thought he received lessons in composition from Handel and Pepusch. This album features three contrasting sonatas, two arias from the composer’s cantatas containing flute obbligato parts, and an arrangement of a trio sonata in E minor, evoking a court salon concert in early eighteenth-century Stockholm.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 05, 2023

  • Catalog Number: RES10316

  • UPC: 5060262793497

  • Label: Resonus Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johan Helmich Roman

  • Performer: Flauguissimo,Yu-Wei Hu,Johan Lofving,Emily Atkinson,Magdalena Loth-Hill,Henrik Persson