Ruoff: Works For Organ Vol.2 / Lehtola

Ruoff: Works For Organ Vol.2 / Lehtola

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The organ works of Axel Ruoff, born in Stuttgart in 1957, constitute one of the most important contributions to the literature for the instrument by any composer since Messiaen. Stylistically, his music unites the French cathedral tradition of composers like Langlais, Dupré and Guillou with the concern with counterpoint and logic heard in Reger and later German figures. Like Messiaen, Ruoff often finds stimulus in religious sources; unlike him, it is biblical narrative that inspires many of Ruoff’s works, and he uses the unparalleled resources of the modern symphonic organ in his response to some of the most dramatic scenes in the Old Testament, writing music of freewheeling energy and uncompromising power.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0596

  • UPC: 5060113445964

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Composer: Axel Ruoff

  • Performer: Jan Lehtola