Saariaho: Let the Wind Speak - Chamber Music with Flute / Hoitenga, Karttunen

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

One of the finest contemporary composers working today, the Parisian-based Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho’s flute chamber works are the spotlight here in a program of compositions that range from 1982-2012. Led by the tremendous flautist Camilla Hoitenga, this is a unique glimpse at one of the compelling composers of our day and also features guest musicians Anssi Karttunen (cello), Da Camera of Houston, Daniel Belcher (baritone) and Héloïse Dautry (harp).


Throughout the CD there is a truly astonishingly display of virtuosity especially in the way Hoitenga melds the voice to the instrument. The supporting cast of musicians are also outstanding in their understanding and reinforcement of the project and of the recording. The booklet essay takes the form of a conversation between performer and composer and has been sensibly translated.

--MusicWeb International

Saariaho is not only seeking strange effects: [the music] is driven by a keen melodic sense and sounds in some ways far more traditional, and not at all derivative of any other composer’s work...The range of music, all in excellent performances, is a tribute to the sonic imagination of its composer.

--The Washington Post

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 13, 2015

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1276-2

  • UPC: 761195127629

  • Label: Ondine

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Kaija Saariaho

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Da Camera of Houston

  • Performer: Anssi Karttunen, Camilla Hoitenga, Daniel Belcher, Hèloïse Dautry