Santoro: Fantasias Sul América; Violin Sonata / Baldini, São Paulo Symphony Soloists

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Claudio Santoro was one of Brazil’s leading composers, having written a considerable amount of solo, chamber and orchestral music, including arguably the most important symphonic cycle ever written in that country. The fifteen Fantasias Sul América, composed as competition pieces for individual instruments, represent fascinating syntheses of his style heard in compressed form. Freely atonal and highly virtuosic, these pieces are now standard repertoire for Brazilian soloists, and were even used later by Santoro as material for his SymphonyNo.12(Naxos8.574406). The youthful Sonata for Solo Violin is a work of extraordinary density and experimentation that reveals an aesthetically consistent dialogue with the much later Fantasias.


Having recently enjoyed getting to know a number of Santoro’s orchestral works through this Music of Brazil strand I have to admit to being quite surprised by this latest volume. Giving a number of instruments the limelight in turn in this way allows the composer to draw out particular moods and expressions with a flexibility and without the need to balance and contrast a number of different forces. The notes state that the Fantasies have now become standard repertoire for Brazilian soloists and also that they were used as source material for Santori’s Symphony No 12. Many of these are premiere recordings.

-- Lark Reviews

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 13, 2023

  • Catalog Number: 8574407

  • UPC: 747313440771

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Claudio Santoro

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Soloists of the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Emmanuele Baldini, Fabio Zanon, Pedro Gadelha, Arcadio Minczuk, Olga Kopylova, Rodrigo Andrade, Horacio Schaefer, Luiz Garcia, Claudio Nascimento, Ovanir Buosi, Fernando Dissenha, Wagner Polistchuk, Natalia Aurea, Alexandre Silverio, Felipe Queiros, Davi Graton


  1. Fantasia Sul América

    Composer: Claudio Santoro

    Ensemble: São Paulo Symphony Soloists

  2. Sonata for Solo Violin

    Composer: Claudio Santoro

    Performer: Emmanuele Baldini (Violin)