Schmidt: Quintet in A Major / Linos Ensemble

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Quintet for Piano, Clarinet and String Trio in A major was the last major work completed by Franz Schmidt prior to his death as well as the last of the three quintets written for the pianist Paul von Wittgenstine. Wittgenstine, who lost his right arm during World War I, but in no way withdrew as an invalid as many in his situation did. The Quintet in A major lasts about an hour and sums up the composer's piano ideal. Throughout the work a lyrical piano solo can be heard along with a slow second movement and a grand finale.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 14, 2016

  • Catalog Number: 555026-2

  • UPC: 761203502622

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Franz Schmidt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Linos Ensemble