Schubert: Journey for One / Demske

Schubert: Journey for One / Demske

Regular price $14.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In the nearly 200 years since its composition for voice and piano, many have tackled Schubert’s Winterreise. Steinway artist Hilary Demske, however, transforms the cycle into a series of works for solo piano on JOURNEY FOR ONE on Navona Records, focusing on the instrument’s poignant ability to represent the original composition’s lyricism and complexity. By freely experimenting with melodic fragments and manipulating the placement and length of gestures—along with translating the meaning of Müller’s poetry to music—Demske adds a fresh, unique perspective to classic repertoire. The result is a refraction, rather than reflection, of Schubert’s masterpiece that produces a series of works that go beyond simple reinterpretation and venture into the realm of complete reimagination.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: NV6370

  • UPC: 896931006705

  • Label: Navona

  • Composer: Hilary Demske

  • Performer: Hilary Demske