Schubert, Schumann & Bach: Violin Sonatas / Wha-Chung, Golan

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The great Korean violinist Kyung Wha Chung, who recently returned to the stage after several years spent far from concert halls for health problems, is here captured at the apex of her career in a concert where she plays German Romantic masterpieces accompanied by Itamar Golan. Kyung Wha Chung is recognized throughout the world as one of the finest violinists of her generation. A prolific recording artist, her dazzling and probing artistry has made her a much-acclaimed performer throughout her forty-year career. Lauded for her passion, her musicality, and the intense excitement that she brings to her performances, Chung’s uniquely expressive interpretations of the violin literature have established her as an artist of the very highest stature. Born in South Korea, Chung first heard the violin at the age of six. Instantly mesmerized by its tone, she was swiftly recognized as a child prodigy, making her concert debut aged nine with the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, performing the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto. At thirteen, Chung enrolled at The Juilliard School, New York, and began studying with renowned pedagogue Ivan Galamian, and later with Joseph Szigeti.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 10, 2017

  • Catalog Number: KKC 4009

  • UPC: 4909346006485

  • Label: King

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Claude Debussy, Eduard Poldini, Franz Schubert, Fritz Kreisler, Johann Sebastian Bach, Robert Schumann

  • Performer: Itamar Golan, Kyung-Wha Chung