1. Schubert: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5 / Jacobs, B'Rock Orchestra

Schubert: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5 / Jacobs, B'Rock Orchestra

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Multiple prize-winning conductor René Jacobs and the B’Rock Orchestra present the third instalment of their Schubert cycle on PENTATONE with a recording of the composer’s Fourth and Fifth Symphony. Just as with the Second and Third, Jacobs approaches these works as a symphonic pair, revealing contrasting aspects of Schubert’s personality and compositional approach. The Fourth is Schubert’s first symphony in a minor key, and adumbrates a totally new harmonic worldview that Dvorák associated with Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde. On the contrary, the Fifth sounds Mozartian and cheerful, although that light-heartedness is only an appearance, as is so often the case in Schubert’s music. In the composer’s words, “too light a mind usually harbors a heart that is too heavy!” Looking closer beneath the surface, the cross-relations between the “Tragic” Fourth and “lighter” Fifth become all the more evident. The players of the B’Rock Orchestra present these works on period instruments; transparent, but full of fire.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 27, 2021

  • Catalog Number: PTC5186856

  • UPC: 827949085666

  • Label: Pentatone

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Franz Schubert

  • Conductor: René Jacobs

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: B'Rock