Schubert: Complete Symphonies Vol. 4 - nos. 5 & 6 / de Vriend, Residentie Orchestra The Hague

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Fourth and final volume in de Vriend’s survey of Schubert’s symphonies. It includes symphonies no. 5 (composed in 1816) and no. 6 (1817). They represent an important step towards the composer’s maturity. As a fill-up you will find the Overture in D in the Italian style, a ‘Rossinian’ piece. de Vriend’s complete edition of Schubert’s symphonies has so far received a widespread acclaim from international press.

BBC Music Magazine on CC 72863 (Symphony no. 9): the feeling is of musical values leading at every point. Fanfare on CC 72802 (Symphonies no. 1,3,8): the performances, with their odd combination of delicacy, decisiveness and drive, really work. Pizzicato on CC 72739 (Symphonies nos. 2,4): with fluid, agile and vivid performances, de Vriend takes a promising start into a new complete cycle of Schubert’s symphonies.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 04, 2022

  • UPC: 0608917280326

  • Catalog Number: CC 72803

  • Label: Challenge

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Franz Schubert

  • Conductor: Jan Willem de Vriend

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Residentie Orkest The Hague