Schubert - Weinberg - Levitin - Hindemith / Iuga, Triendl

Schubert - Weinberg - Levitin - Hindemith / Iuga, Triendl

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The double bass is an instrument that can all too often be misunderstood and is often lightly dismissed: due to its impressive size it is assumed that the instrument is only capable of ponderous, heavy, grumpy sounds. The fact that there is not a grain of truth in either of these urban myths is borne out by the double bass sonatas on the present album and the soloist, Romanian double bassist Petru Iuga: music is innate to this instrument that is anything but cumbersome; it is in fact capable of producing sensuous melodies, virtuoso forms of expression suit it just as well as contemplative ones do, and its spectrum ranges from the deepest gruff growl to the brightest, most heartfelt burst of laughter. And (as with all other musical instruments) it requires a fully trained, experienced and attentive performer to elicit all of those characteristics from the instrument. What’s more, it requires a repertoire that makes demands both on the musician and the musical instrument and inspires them to give their very best – only then can those ethereal sounds be heard, even on a double bass.The Romanian double bassist Petru Iuga is one of the most successful classical musicians of his generation. During his musical training in his homeland, the 20-year-old student came to the attention of Yehudi Menuhin, who enlisted him for his International Menuhin Music Academy in Gstaad (Switzerland). One can hardly imagine a more devoted champion of neglected and rarely played composers than pianist Oliver Triendl. His tireless commitment – primarily to romantic and contemporary music – is reflected in more than 100 recordings. The scope of his repertoire is surely unique, comprising some 90 piano concertos and hundreds of chamber music pieces.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 02, 2021

  • Catalog Number: SM342

  • UPC: 4260123643423

  • Label: Solo Musica

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Franz Schubert, Mieczyslaw Weinberg, Paul Hindemith, Yury Abramovich Levitin

  • Performer: Oliver Triendl, Petru Iuga