Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 9 / Lloyd-Gonzalez, BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

British Conductor Steven Lloyd-Gonzalez makes his debut recording for First Hand Records with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and the 6th & 9th Symphonies of Dmitri Shostakovich; two of the composer’s more enigmatic and intimate works. The scale and breadth of the 6th Symphony’s opening nocturnal Largo contrasted with the livelier and shorter 2nd and 3rd movements emphasizes the work’s unique form and place in the 20th century symphonic oeuvre. The 9th Symphony’s Haydnesque first movement with its notorious gate-crashing trombone is followed by one of Shostakovich’s most searching and atmospheric of movements. The Presto, by contrast, is a whirlwind of virtuosity before unexpectedly running out of steam and leading ‘attaca’ to the brutalist lower brass fanfare opening of the 4th movement, which in turn lays bare the ground for a desolate bassoon cadenza, here featuring Joshua Wilson as soloist. The Allegretto — Allegro finale once again evokes the classical sound world of the 1st movement, but now with a sense of nonchalance and aplomb.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 15, 2022

  • Catalog Number: FHR120

  • UPC: 5060216346120

  • Label: First Hand Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich

  • Conductor: Steven Lloyd-Gonzalez

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: BBC National Orchestra of Wales