1. Kancheli: Simple Music / Jenny Lin, Guy Klucevsek

Kancheli: Simple Music / Jenny Lin, Guy Klucevsek

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Simple Music for piano is a collection of inspired fragments from themes of classic Georgian plays and films for the stage and screen by Gaya Kancheli (1935-2019). On this album the set is performed, improvised, arranged, even reimagined by the innovative pianist Jenny Lin and accordion virtuoso Guy Klucevsek as an engaging mixture of solos and duos. “Jenny Lin, a resourceful performer blessed with superb technique and indefatigable curiosity.” (TimeOut New York) “A rebel with an accordion ... Klucevsek combines poker-faced wit and imagination with command of his instrument, forcing you to re-think the accordion’s limitations.” (DownBeat)


This disc offers something very different from the composer's better known large-scale works: Simple Music, a set of 33 light-hearted miniatures for piano, drawn from his music for theater and film. Many of these fall into one of two stylistic categories: rainy-day cafe jazz and tongue-in-cheek oompah marches. All are ordered with variety in mind. Kancheli goes further by encouraging improvisation and creative interpretation from the performers. In this way, pianist Jenny Lin recruits accordionist Guy Kulcevsek, who adds imaginative counterpoint to the piano pieces and transcribes some for solo accordion. Both add tasteful flourishes and dissonances to the pieces. In all, a lovely diversion with just the right amount of charm and humor. I commend both performers and the recording engineers on a job well done.

-- American Record Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 02, 2021

  • Catalog Number: STNS30173

  • UPC: 034062301737

  • Label: Steinway & Sons

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Giya Kancheli

  • Performer: Guy Klucevsek, Jenny Lin