Spoliansky: Orchestral Music / Mann, Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The Russian-born Mischa Spoliansky (1898—1985) became one of the major names in cabaret in 1920s Berlin and then, as a refugee from Nazi Germany, in London, he became one of the best-known composers of film scores. He also wrote a handful of orchestral works, which have remained unknown until now. His Boogie is a witty, tongue-in-cheek piece of orchestral jazz, and the Overture to My Husband and I, one of his stage shows, has a Mozartian sparkle and wit. But it is his only Symphony, an epic statement composed over a period of nearly three decades, that constitutes his real achievement as an orchestral composer – the fourth of its five movements apparently offering Spoliansky’s own musical commentary on the Holocaust.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0626

  • UPC: 5060113446268

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Mischa Spoliansky

  • Conductor: Paul Mann

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Liepāja Symphony Orchestra