Star Trek: 20th Anniversary Collector's Edition

Regular price $15.98
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This 20th anniversary edition of STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE is packaged in a holographic slipcase and contains a total of 11 previously unreleased tracks. It includes a bonus disc entitled INSIDE STAR TREK, originally released in 1976, which features interviews with Gene Roddenberry, Isaac Asimov and members of the original cast.
Original score composed and conducted by Jerry Goldsmith.
Producer: Jerry Goldsmith.
Engineer: John Neal.
Producers: Ed Naha, Don Devito.
Engineers include: Russ Payne, Bob Schoppe, Stan Tonkel.
Reissue producers: Didier C. Deuthsch, Darcy M. Proper.
Digitally remastered by Darcy M. Proper (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
In 1999, the Legacy label reissued Jerry Goldsmith's lauded score to STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE. Not only did the meticulously packaged release feature the lush pieces originally presented on the '79 soundtrack, it also offered up more than 20 minutes of previously unreleased material. The album's crowning achievement, of course, is the majestic "Main Title," which is immediately recognizable due to its prominent use in this first film, in the original television series, and in other subsequent STAR TREK movies and TV shows.
Each composition reveals Goldsmith's ability to both reflect and heighten the drama unfolding on the screen, whether it's the ominous, percussive "Klingon Battle" or the tense yet dreamy "Spock's Arrival." Along with John Williams's work on the original STAR WARS, this album is one of the preeminent sci-fi scores, and is a must-have for Trekkies and fans of Goldsmith's bold compositions. This 20TH ANNIVERSARY COLLECTOR'S EDITION also contains a bonus disc that includes STAR TREK musings by creator Gene Roddenberry and the one and only William Shatner, among others.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 66134C2K

  • UPC: 074646613429

  • Label: Columbia