Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos. 4, 5 & 6 / Nelsons, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra [Blu-ray]

Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos. 4, 5 & 6 / Nelsons, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra [Blu-ray]

Regular price $55.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This Blu-ray Disc is only playable on Blu-ray Disc players and not compatible with standard DVD players.

Also available on standard DVD

Recorded live at the Gwandhaus in 2018, this excellent program from the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig and their conductor Andris Nelsons features Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies Nos. 4, 5, and 6, as well as works by Mozart, Mussorgsky, Shostakovich, and Weinberg, making for a thrilling and well-rounded programme. Andris Nelsons is Music Director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Gewandhauskapellmeister of the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. These two positions, in addition to his leadership of a pioneering alliance between both institutions, have firmly established Grammy Award-winning Nelsons as one of the most renowned and innovative conductors on the international scene today. “Andris Nelsons conducted with concise focus and vigor and elicited the orchestra both tonal beauty and technical precision and visible enthusiasm.” (THE BOSTON GLOBE)


Tchaikovsky’s “Pathétique” shows a dynamic use of tempo: In general, the fast music is very fast, the slow music quite slow, and Nelsons speeds up and slows down as the mood of the music changes. The first movement has lovely woodwind solos, particularly the important ones for clarinet. There is fine attention to dynamics, particularly in the second and fourth movements. The ending disappears into silence, and the hall remains silent for what seems like an impossible length of time before finally erupting into applause.

– Fanfare

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ACC60508

  • UPC: 4260234832334

  • Label: ACCENTUS Music

  • Composer: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  • Conductor: Andris Nelsons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra