Tchaikovsky: The Last Concert in Moscow / Jansons, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Melodiya releases a digitally remastered broadcast of the Mariss Jansons concert with the Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra that took place on March 29, 2016, at the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall. With that concert, the musicians were congratulating Alexander Tchaikovsky on his 70th birthday. The outstanding maestro conducted the Concerto for viola, piano and orchestra Etudes in Simple Tones and the Concerto for two pianos and orchestra, Symphony No. 4 for choir, orchestra and solo viola, and pieces for orchestra – Elegie in Memoriam Tikhon Khrennikov and Valse, performed by the soloists Yuri Bashmet, Boris Berezovsky, Ksenia Bashmet, and Daria Tchaikovskaya. “His whole life was a declaration of love for music,” wrote Markus Hinterhäuser, the Artistic Director of the Salzburg Festival, about Mariss Jansons. A representative of a renowned musical dynasty, Mariss Jansons was a true ‘citizen of the world’ – for many years, he was the chief conductor of the Concertgebouw and Bavarian Radio orchestras, which, under his leadership, topped the rating of the world’s best orchestras (according to the 2009 Focus magazine poll); he conducted the New Year's concert at the Vienna Musikverein three times; he was a winner of the Grammy Award, Diapason d'Or, Echo Klassik, and other international prizes. However, until the end of his days he considered himself a representative of the Russian conducting tradition, taught at the St. Petersburg Conservatory, and regularly performed in the northern capital. Unfortunately, the Moscow public did not hear Mariss Jansons that often. The concert was a tribute the conductor paid to the lasting friendship with Alexander Tchaikovsky, one of the leading composers of Russia. By the will of fate, it became Mariss Janson’s last concert in Moscow.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 19, 2021

  • Catalog Number: MELCD1002662

  • UPC: 4600317126620

  • Label: Melodiya

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Alexander Tchaikovsky

  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra