Telemann: Cantatas for the Hanoverian Kings of England / Barockwerk Hamburg

Telemann: Cantatas for the Hanoverian Kings of England / Barockwerk Hamburg

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This album features three dazzling but previously only little-known compositions for royals from Telemann’s immense trove of vocal music. The selections have been chosen from the field of commissioned and occasional compositions written for special occasions such as acts of homage, funerary ceremonies, weddings, birthdays, and inaugurations. Two works from Telemann’s primary creative field, that of church music, round off the program. The three works featured on this recording have in common points of reference to the particular English kings during whose reigns they were written; these monarchs were also in personal union the Prince Electors of Braunschweig-Lüneburg (for short: “Electors of Hanover”). All three works are distinguished by scoring for an ensemble with trumpets as “royal instruments” – sometimes in a majestic function, sometimes in a tonally subdued, mournful function – and with a bass singer as the vocal representative of the monarch. These works brimming with ideas and designed with virtuosity and color are from the master’s late compositional period and, depending on the particular occasion, express gratitude, appreciation, or grief vis-à-vis the British-Hanoverian rulers. Although these feelings certainly first and foremost reflect the stance of those who commissioned them, Telemann’s musical settings lend them universal appeal.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 555426-2

  • UPC: 761203542628

  • Label: CPO

  • Composer: Georg Philipp Telemann

  • Conductor: Ira Hochman

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Barockwerk Hamburg

  • Performer: Dominik Wörner, Hanna Zumsande