Tudor Church Music - The Anglican Easter Liturgy / London Ambrosian Singers

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

To be exact, we should include in the Tudor Church music only the period prior to 1549 and consider Robert Fayrfax (1464–1521) and Hugh Aston (died 1522) as the first Tudor composers. They were succeeded by a great master – John Taverner; only a small number of works with English texts in his hand are extant. Then came Thomas Tallis, who composed works for the reformed Church, but he left also compositions intended for the Catholic service. Peter Philips, another major figure, could not bring himself to accept the Reform and left England. William Byrd enjoyed such popularity that he was able to write music for the Catholic Church under the aegies of the liberal Elizabeth I without ever being bothered. With Orlando Gibbons the composers began to write more for the Church of England. Thomas Tomkins may be considered as the last of those com posers coming under the heading “Tudor Church Music”.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TUDOR7210

  • UPC: 812973012108

  • Label: Tudor

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Renaissance

  • Composer: Richard Alwood, William Byrd, Orlando Gibbons, The Kidderminster, William Mundy, John Redford, William Smith, Robert Stone, Thomas Tallis, John Taverner, Thomas Tomkins, Thomas Weelkes, Robert Whyte

  • Conductor: John McCarthy

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: The London Ambrosian Singers

  • Performer: Oskar Peter