Uccellini: Sonatas from Opp. 3-5 on an Amati Violin (1572) / Gricmanis, Noxwode

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The young violinist Conor Gricmanis and his early music ensemble Noxwode, have recorded rare and beautiful violin sonatas by the early Italian Baroque composer Marco Uccellini for FHR. His sonatas for violin and continuo contributed to the development of an idiomatic style of writing for the violin (including virtuosic runs, leaps, and forays into high positions), expanding the instrument’s technical capabilities and expressive range. This stylus fantasticus genre is evident in this recording, providing ample opportunities for the soloists and ensemble to personalize their interpretations. On this recording, Gricmanis plays what is believed to be the oldest fully playable violin in the world, a 450 year old Andrea Amati made in 1572.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: FHR125

  • UPC: 5060216341125

  • Label: First Hand Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Marco Uccellini

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Noxwode

  • Performer: Conor Gricmanis, Bojan Cicic, Timothy Roberts, Claire Edwards