1. Verdi: Rigoletto - ArkivMusic
  2. Verdi: Rigoletto - ArkivMusic
  3. Verdi: Rigoletto - ArkivMusic

Verdi: Rigoletto / Camerena, Salsi, Kamani, Frizza, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Rigoletto is regarded as the first operatic masterpiece of Verdi’s mature artistic period. Its complex psychology identifies characters with different styles of music, and with an incredible variety of accents for a central figure conceived by the composer as ‘deformed and laughable, but actually passionate and full of love’. From the famous aria La donna è mobile, to the final horrific tragedy as the curse unfolds, the triumphant success of Rigoletto since its premiere in 1851 has endured to the present day. The work is set for modern stage here by Italian director Davide Livermore.


Camarena, a star of the bel canto repertoire, eschews the ‘bravado’ approach taken by many tenors and brings a beautiful light, silvery tone to the role of the Duke. His voice pairs perfectly with that of Enkeleda Kamani… Compelling, too, is Luca Salsi’s believable portrayal of Rigoletto.

-- BBC Music Magazine

The singers are very good: Luca Salsi reveals a subtle side to his art as Rigoletto and Javier Camarena is an ebullient but stylish Duke.

-- Opera Now

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 21, 2022

  • Catalog Number: DYN-CDS7921.02

  • UPC: 8007144079215

  • Label: Dynamic

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Giuseppe Verdi

  • Conductor: Riccardo Frizza

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

  • Performer: Javier Camarena