Victoria: Officium Defunctorum / Cave, Magnificat

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Magnificat delivers a hypnotically gripping performance of Victoria's Requiem Mass, a work that remains an inspiration to listeners over 400 years since its composition. Composed for the funeral of his employer, Victoria weaves a tender, glowing musical tribute to the Dowager Empress Maria around the ancient plainsong melodies of the Requiem Mass. This recording of Victoria's Officium Defunctorum was named ‘Critics' Choice' by Gramophone and chosen by The Rough Guide as one of its ‘100 Essential Classical CDs'.

1 Taedet Animam Meam 3:08
2 Ego Sum Resurrectio 0:45
3 Benedictus Dominus Deus 3:59
4 Introitus: Requiem Aeternam 5:41
5 Kyrie Eleison 2:19
6 Graduale: Requiem Aeternam 3:42
7 Offertorium: Domine Iesu Christe 6:57
8 Sanctus: Benedictus 3:10
9 Agnus Dei 3:03
10 Communio: Lux Aeterna 4:06
11 Motectum: Versa Est In Luctum 3:57
12 Absolutio: Libera Me 9:08



The performances are guaranteed to refresh even the most jaded palate.

– Early Music Today

The Magnificat ensemble is stunning, their mixed voices blending as if a single instrument. This particularly suits the stately pace of Victoria's Mass for the Dead, chords melting seamlessly into the next.

– BBC Music Magazine

...a lovely balance, with a very true-sounding tonal palette.


Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BKD060

  • UPC: 691062006033

  • Label: Linn Records

  • Composer: Tomás Luis de Victoria

  • Conductor: Philip Cave

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Magnificat Choir