Vierne, Saint-Saens: Harmonium Vs. Organ / Mercati

Regular price $24.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Camille Saint-Saëns was 17 years of age when he composed his first printed work, the Trois Morceaux, which blends charming melodic creativity with a spiritual character. Louis Vierne’s 24 Pièces en style libre are unquestionably some of this composer’s most successful and popular works. Divided into two collections, these pieces are impressive for their great expressive quality, being evocative of places and people known to Vierne, alluding to musical forms both antique and impressionistic, and ranging in mood from the fiery to the serene. Born in Saronno, Italy, Giulio Mercati began studying music at the age of six under the tutelage of his grandfather, Maestro Lamberto Torrebruno, a representative of an important family of musicians: he then completed his musical studies in organ, composition, and harpsichord under such distinguished musicians as Luigi Toja, Jean Boyer, Olivier Latry, Massimo Berzolla, Bruno Bettinelli, Emilia Fadini and Danilo Costantini. A musician of great versatility, Giulio Mercati is extremely active as a concert performer in Italy and abroad, primarily as an organ and harpsichord soloist, and as a continuo player in many important ensembles.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: DYN-CDS7924.02

  • UPC: 8007144079246

  • Label: Dynamic

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns

  • Performer: Giulio Mercati