Vivaldi Collection - Flute Concertos Vol 2 / Drahos, Et Al

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The flute is probably the most serene instrument of all, aside from the harp. Its sound alone has a miraculously calming effect, evoking a mood of tranquility. This is assuming, of course, that the music being played is of a high and beauteous quality, something of which Antonio Vivaldi was certainly a master. The first concerto, "La tempesta di mare" (Sea storm), will be instantly recognizable by anyone who has seen recent diamond or wine commercials on television. The main theme's rapid upward scale is an engaging device the composer will use a few times throughout this collection. The Concerto in G minor, "La notte" (Night), creates an eerie atmosphere with its somber tones and very pregnant pauses, followed by a raging allegro. The D major concerto, "Il gardellino" (The Goldfinch) borrows the "The Four Seasons" technique of suggesting bird-song with two solo violins. Béla Drahos's playing in these and the remaining concertos captures the smile that is ever-present in Vivaldi's music with unerring skill and purity of tone. The Nicolaus Esterházy Sinfonia partners him with pungent, animated accompaniments. Naxos' warm recording enhances the effect of these engaging performances, which are simply as fine as any available.--Victor Carr,

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8553101

  • UPC: 730099410120

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Nicolaus Esterházy Sinfonia

  • Performer: Béla Drahos