Vivaldi: Four Seasons / Caine, Bleckmann, Zapico, Forma Antiqua

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Aarón Zapico and his baroque ensemble, Forma Antiqva, interpret Vivaldi’s concertos with an entirely new approach, on period instruments. Aitor Hevia (violin) slips into various leading parts, mimics birds, a farmer’s boy, from who the storm wants to steal the annual harvest, becomes the game being hunted to death and blusters like freezing wind over the frozen land. Vivaldi, who was born during an earthquake, creates four episodes, each in three parts, corresponding with his poems. Theo Bleckmann and Uri Caine compose these sonnets and present here as a première recording ‘The Four Seasons Sonnets’: Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter. Bleckmann and Caine act as the narrators for Vivaldi’s AudioFilm. The Dutch painter and concept artist Marcel van Eeden is inspired by Zapico’s ‘Four Seasons’ and creates for this musical cycle eight new drawings.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 910185-2

  • UPC: 025091018529

  • Label: Winter & Winter

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi

  • Conductor: Aarón Zapico

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Forma Antiqva

  • Performer: Aitor Hevia, Theo Bleckmann, Uri Caine