Vivaldi: Il Farnace / Sardelli, Prina, Galou, Nesi, Castellano [dvd]

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Also available on Blu-ray

Il Farnace is the most re-written and re-proposed of Vivaldi’s operas. Versions of Farnace, two in 1727 and one each in 1730, 1731 and 1732, were conceived and adapted to the different circumstances for Venice, Prague, Pavia and Mantua, always with a cast to Vivaldi’s satisfaction and with the composer in control of the production. The greatest appreciation of Vivaldi’s operatic music was expressed in a letter by a spectator of the 1727 Carnival season. The abbot Antonio Conti wrote that of all the operas of the Venice season he liked best Farnace because its music was varied, “between the sublime and the tender,” and because Vivaldi’s pupil worked wonders. In 1738, for the Ferrara Carnival season, Vivaldi wrote a new score of the opera. This is the last Farnace, in two acts, as the third was lost.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: DYN-37670

  • UPC: 8007144376703

  • Label: Dynamic

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi

  • Conductor: Federico Maria Sardelli

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Florence Maggio Musicale Orchestra

  • Performer: Delphine Galou, Emanuele D'Aguanno, Loriana Castellano, Magnus Staveland, Mary-Ellen Nesi, Roberta Mameli, Sonia Prina