Vladigerov: Stage Music / Bulgarian National Radio Symphony

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The more of Pancho Vladigerov’s work becomes widely accessible, the clearer it becomes that he is the most important Bulgarian composer – well beyond the 20th century. Revered in his lifetime, he was in a position to continue his work largely unaffected by the ideological demands of the Communist regime, although his musical diction, tonal and grounded in late Romantic tradition, wouldn’t likely have provoked any reprisals. In these works for the stage, meanwhile, Vladigerov shows a cosmopolitan side, easily slipping into the world of Strindberg for his Scandinavian Suite, chinoiserie for Klabund’s Chalk Circle, and exoticism for Shaw’s Cesar and Cleopatra.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 02, 2023

  • Catalog Number: C8067

  • UPC: 845221080673

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Pancho Vladigerov

  • Conductor: Alexander Vladigerov

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bulgarian National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Bulgarian National Radio Choir

  • Performer: Rumjana Valcheva Evrova, Pavel Gerdjikov