Walton Conducts Walton - The 1964 New Zealand Tour/ Senofsky

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

These historic performances, recorded by the New Zealand Broadcasting Corporation, are being released for the first time through an agreement between the NZBC and Bridge Records. Recorded during Sir William Waltonís seven concert New Zealand tour in 1964, this two disc set is being sold for the discounted price of one CD. The first CD opens with Sir William leading a magisterial God Save the Queen and segues into an impassioned reading of his masterful and romantic ìViolin Concerto.î Walton was reportedly ëoverjoyedí to be working again with the American violinist Berl Senofsky, who had previously performed the concerto under his baton with the New York Philharmonic and Chicago Symphony Orchestras. Waltonís sparkling Partita is given an exhilarating reading to bring the first CD to a rousing conclusion. Disc B begins with a major composition ñ Waltonís Symphony No. 1. As encores, Disc B concludes with two short string orchestra pieces from Waltonís historic Henry V film collaboration with Laurence Olivier.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BCD9133A/B

  • UPC: 090404913327

  • Label: Bridge Records

  • Composer: Anonymous, Sir William Walton

  • Conductor: Sir William Walton

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Berl Senofsky