Witold Rowicki Conducts Tchaikovsky / Radio Symphony Orchestras of Baden-Baden and Freiburg & Stuttgart

Regular price $24.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Witold Rowicki, one of Poland’s most important conductors of the 20th century and leading figure of his generation, is internationally known especially for the complete recording of Dvorák’s symphonies with the London Symphony Orchestra as well as for his impulsive Tchaikovsky performances. In his native country he was admired as the conductor to whom Witold Lutoslawski dedicated his brilliant Concerto for orchestra and who strongly promoted the music of his compatriots. The Tchaikovsky studio recordings presented here were made in 1962 (Fifth Symphony) and 1969 (Sixth Symphony) with the Südwestfunk Symphony Orchestra and in 1979 (Nutcracker Suite) with the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra. Rowicki had many other appearances with German orchestras, each of them enthusiastically greeted by the press and the public.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 11, 2022

  • Catalog Number: SWR19112CD

  • UPC: 747313911288

  • Label: SWR Music

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  • Conductor: Witold Rowicki

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg