Woodlands And Beyond… / Hélène Grimaud

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Together with photographer Mat Hennek, French star pianist Hélène Grimaud devises a multimedia concert project at the Grand Hall of Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie. Grimaud’s virtuosic piano performance is accompanied by Hennek’s highly praised photo series “Woodlands”, which depicts genuine portraits of trees, Grimaud’s piano recital includes works by Romantic and impressionistic composers. They are connected by seven “Transitions”, written exclusively for Grimaud by British composer and DJ Nitin Sawhney. The motives of Hennek’s Woodlands series create an extraordinary visual backdrop, which in combination with Grimaud´s pianistic “impeccable clarity and articulation” (Hamburger Abendblatt) and the Elbphilharmonie’s splendid acoustics grants a concert experience of a special kind.


Grimaud is a pianist ideally suited for the repertoire included in this program. She possesses a prodigious technique, the ability to evoke a broad palette of instrumental colors, and a patrician sense of phrasing. Grimaud can also summon a prodigiously focused and powerful sonority in the grand climaxes. The artistic level of this collaborative recital is of a very high order. Both the video and audio quality of the Blu-ray/DVD are superb.

– Fanfare

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 20, 2020

  • Catalog Number: 755408

  • UPC: 814337015541

  • Label: C Major

  • Composer: Isaac Albéniz, Luciano Berio, Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Leoš Janáček, Franz Liszt, Maurice Ravel, Nitin Sawhney, Tōru Takemitsu

  • Performer: Hélène Grimaud