Wordsworth: Orchestral Music, Vol. 4 - ArkivMusic

Wordsworth: Orchestral Music, Vol. 4

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The music of William Wordsworth (1908–88) – a great-great-grandson of the poet’s brother Christopher – lies downstream from that of Vaughan Williams and Sibelius; like that of his contemporary Edmund Rubbra, Wordsworth’s music unfolds spontaneously, as a natural process. This fourth volume of his orchestral works presents four works which are all symphonic studies in essence, each remarkable for its unassertive strength of purpose and its suggestion of a sense of scale beyond its actual dimensions – perhaps in part a reflection of the majesty of the Scottish Highlands where he made his home, and of the quiet resolve of his own character.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 21, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0618

  • UPC: 5060113446183

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1