Levina: The Piano Concertos / Lettberg, Matiakh, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Zara Alexandrovna Levina, born 1906 in Alexandrovsk (Ukraine), witnessed two world wars, the Revolution as well as the collapse and totalitarian reconstruction of her homeland. She was under the constant ideological pressure of the existentially threatening state censorship, which was particularly exerted by the notorious RAPM (Russian Association of Proletarian Musicians) in the 1920s and 1930s, driving her to the brink of a creative and health disaster. However, Zara Levina was able to retain her own and unmistakable voice in her music. She died in Moscow on 1976 as a respected and much-performed composer beloved of musicians such as David Oistrakh, Maria Grinberg, Victor Knuschewitzki and the public alike. Vocal works like her romances meanwhile belong to the salient repertoire of Russian music. Pianist Maria Lettberg breathes life into these world premiere recordings.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 03, 2017

  • Catalog Number: C5269

  • UPC: 845221052694

  • Label: ArkivMusic

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Zara Aleksandrovna Levina

  • Conductor: Ariane Matiakh

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

  • Performer: Maria Lettberg