Einojuhani Rautavaara 90th Anniversary Edition

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928–2016) would have turned 90 on October 9th, 2018. During his long career as a composer spanning seven decades from the late 1940s until his very last days, the composer created a wide list of works in various music genres, including 8 symphonies, several concertos and operas as well as a large amount of vocal and chamber music – the majority of these works have been recorded by Ondine. The recordings released by the label played a key role in bringing the composer to international attention during the 1990s. This anniversary release includes a re-issue of his 8th Symphony, commissioned for the centenary of the Philadelphia Orchestra, and his Harp Concerto, written for the Minnesota Orchestra, as well as a sampler of selected moments from Ondine’s extensive and award-winning Rautavaara discography.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 14, 2018

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1236-2D

  • UPC: 761195123621

  • Label: Ondine

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Einojuhani Rautavaara

  • Conductor: Juha Kangas, Leif Segerstam, Max Pommer, Mikko Franck, Sigvards Klava, Timo Nuoranne

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Belgian National Orchestra, Finnish Radio Chamber Choir, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Latvian Radio Choir, Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Gunilla Sussmann, Marielle Nordmann, Marko Ylönen, Paavali Jumppanen, Pekka Kuusisto, Tanja Tetzlaff