E. Power Biggs plays Handel: The 16 Concertos and More

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The great English organist E. Power Biggs studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London but emigrated to the US, where he performed widely. From 1942 to 1958 he broadcast a weekly radio program that brought the sound of organ music, particularly that of the Baroque, to an unprecedentedly large audience. For American Columbia he recorded a wide repertoire (even extending to Scott Joplin rags on the pedal harpsichord), but with a firm emphasis on Bach. Another celebrated Biggs project was his recording of the 16 Organ Concertos of Handel with the London Philharmonic under Sir Adrian Boult, performed on a 1749 organ at Great Packington, Warwickshire, which the composer himself frequently played. This new 4-CD Masters box also contains Biggs’s recordings of transcriptions from Handel’s oratorios and operas.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 88875051822

  • UPC: 888750518224

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel

  • Conductor: Sir Adrian Boult, Sir Charles Groves

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: E. Power Biggs