Rachmaninoff: Monna Vanna, Act I Songs / Isokoski, Ashkenazy

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Sergei Rachmaninoff’s (1873-1943) rarely heard, unfinished opera Monna Vanna was the only major score he took with him into exile in the USA after the 1917 revolution. + This new recording is based on Gennadi Belov’s new edition and conducted by an iconic artist and Russian music expert Vladimir Ashkenazy. The second part of this disc features Finnish soprano Soile Isokoski singing seven Rachmaninov songs (including the hauntingly beautiful Vocalise), accompanied on the piano by Mr. Ashkenazy.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 08, 2014

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1249-2

  • UPC: 761195124925

  • Label: Ondine

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Sergei Rachmaninoff

  • Conductor: Vladimir Ashkenazy

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Moscow Conservatory Students Choir, Moscow Conservatory Students Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Dmitry Ivanchey, Edward Arutyunyan, Evgeniya Dushina, Mikhail Golovushkin, Soile Isokoski, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Vladimir Avtomonov