Pizzetti: Symphony in A & Harp Concerto / Iorio, Bassani, RAI National Symphony Orchestra

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Composed in 1940, Pizzetti's Symphony in A was one of the works, which included Benjamin Britten's Sinfonia da Requiem, commissioned to celebrate the 2600th anniversary of the accession of the legendary first Emperor of Japan. This powerful and unsettling work, Pizzetti's only Symphony, is notable for its ominous mood, its compositional progress between February and June 1940 mirroring the unfolding European conflict and Italy's own declaration of war. Written twenty years later for Italy's leading harpist Clelia Gatti Aldrovandi, the sunny Harp Concerto is, by contrast, both lyrical and vivacious.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 12, 2017

  • Catalog Number: 8573613

  • UPC: 747313361373

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ildebrando Pizzetti

  • Conductor: Damian Iorio

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale Della RAI

  • Performer: Margherita Bassani