Sacred Music Highlights / Capriccio 40th Anniversary Edition

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Since the beginning of Capriccio's catalog, the sacred repertoire has held a very special place among the label's recordings. Started with the most famous boys' choirs in the former German Democratic Republic (such as the Dresden Boys' Choir and Thomanerchor Leipzig), continued with boys' choirs in the West (including the Vienna Boys' Choir, Tölz Boys' Choir, and Regensburger Domspatzen), and up to artists like the Rheinische Kantorei with Hermann Max, top-tier ensembles have filled the gaps in recording history. Here, long-silent cantatas and oratorios by Zelenka, Hasse, Telemann, and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach appear having been revived by Capriccio. This 40th Anniversary Box includes several remastered versions of long-out of print records, as well as a representative selection of niche- and standard repertoire productions.


It must not have been easy to select which music to include in this commemorative package for the 40th anniversary of the Capriccio label, but the truth is that the more than 10 hours of music that they offer us is exquisite and an excellent example of the trajectory of this record label...which has always opted for the opening of new territories.

Let's highlight the obvious: the ten albums are dedicated to religious music mostly performed by groups of German origin, such as Das Kleine Konzert and La Stagione. They offer works by authors who are consecrated today, but were not always so much when Capriccio bet on them, as in the cases of C.P.E. Bach and Telemann.

The care of the sound recording (from the first minute of the beautiful first disc with Monteverdi's Vespers) makes it possible to distinguish all the flourishes of this music, either with its melodic ornaments, or with its intricate contrapuntal textures, such as in Bach's Motets, given by a boys' choir, the Rostocker Motettenchor. And it also has a section dedicated to 19th century music, with Schubert's Hymns, Brahms's German Requiem, and music by Saint-Saëns and Mendelssohn. All recorded between 1983 and 2002, this music is a living testimony of the good work of this still-active label. Long live Capriccio!

-- Ritmo

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: C7377

  • UPC: 845221073774

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 10

  • Composer: Claudio Monteverdi,Heinrich Schütz,Johann Sebastian Bach,Georg Philipp Telemann,Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach,Johann Christian Bach,Jan Dismas Zelenka,Johann Adolf Haase,Johann David Heinichen,Gottfried August Homilius,Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart,Franz Schubert,Johannes Brahms,Camille Saint-Saëns,Felix Mendelssohn

  • Conductor: Howard Arman, Gerhard Schmidt-Gaden, Hartwig Eschenburg, Hermann Max, Michael Schneider, Peter Marschik, Dietrich Knothe, Herbert Kegel, Martin Flämig

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Schutz Academy, Tölz Boys' Choir, Rostock Motet Choir, Rheinische Kantorei, Dresden Chamber Choir, La Stagione, Das Kleine Konzert, Vienna Children's Choir, Stuttgart Philharmonic, Berlin Radio Choir, Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, Leipzig Radio Choir, Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Peter Schreier, MariAnne Häggander, Siegfried Lorenz