1. Arnold: Symphony no 9 and Grand Concerto / Gibbons, Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

Arnold: Symphony No. 9; Grand Concerto / Gibbons, Liepāja Symphony

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

These two works present two sharply contrasting sides of Malcolm Arnold: his limitless resources of knockabout fun, and a sense of existential tragedy. But each score presents its own surprises: the jocularity of the Grand Concerto Gastronomique conceals some seriously good (though not seriously serious) music; and the delicately scored Ninth Symphony, written after five years when its composer had, in his own words, ‘been through hell’, irradiates its emotional restraint and elegiac tone with moments of light and warmth.


Overall, this is a typically excellent disc from Toccata; first rate music receiving effective performances presented in an informative and valuable package. Even the rather sombre, indeed haunted, image of Arnold that stares bleakly from the booklet cover is well-chosen and apt. Given that it is two decades since we have had a new survey of Arnold’s magnificent symphonies, I hope that this will prove to be just the beginning of a new cycle – a warmly welcomed disc.

-- MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 01, 2021

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0613

  • UPC: 5060113446138

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Malcolm Arnold

  • Conductor: John Gibbons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Anna Gorbachyova-Ogilvie