Bantock: Omar Khayyam / Del Mar, BBC Symphony

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam is a translation by Edward Fitzgerald of a selection of poems which were originally written in Persian and are attributed to Omar Khayyam, a Persian mathematician, astronomer, and poet. There are about a thousand poems in the complete volume. British composer Granville Bantock composed this choral setting of the works. Part 1 premiered in 1906, Part 2 in 1907, Part 3 in 1909, and the complete works were performed in 1910 at Queen’s Hall. This four disc set is the only complete recording ever made of the work, and is made up of original BBC Broadcasts from 1968 and 1979.



Those who want to hear Omar Khayyam in all its glorious monumentality will need to buy the Lyrita set. it’s one of the monuments in British music that needs to be heard.

– The Guardian

Del Mar’s soloists sing with urgency and passion. A hugely enterprising addition to Lyrita’s ever-growing catalogue.

– Gramophone

This lively 1979 revival of the complete work is well coupled with other less rare Bantock, especially Fifine at the Fair. Del Mar, an eminent Strauss scholar, has a sure feel for the orchestral writing of this era, well paced and translucent rather than weighty.

– BBC Music Magazine

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: REAM2128

  • UPC: 5020926212825

  • Label: Lyrita

  • Composer: Granville Bantock

  • Conductor: Norman Del Mar

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, BBC Singers, BBC Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Anthony Rolfe Johnson, Brian Rayner Cook, Johanna Peters, Sarah Walker


  1. Omar Khayyám

    Composer: Granville Bantock

    Ensemble: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, BBC Singers, BBC Symphony Orchestra

    Performer: Johanna Peters (Mezzo Soprano), Brian Rayner Cook (Baritone), Anthony Rolfe Johnson (Tenor), Sarah Walker (Mezzo Soprano)

    Conductor: Norman Del Mar