Bartók: Works for Orchestra & Piano and Orchestra

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Hungarian composer, pianist, and ethnomusicologist Bela Bartok is considered to be one of the most important composers of the twentieth century. He and Franz Liszt to this day reign as Hungary’s greatest composers who have ever lived. Through his collection and analytical study of folk music, he was one of the founders of comparative musicology, which would go on to become ethnomusicology. Some of Bartók’s best-known works are collected on this album. All of them have written music history and decisively influenced classical Modernism. The composition of these works extends from 1927 (String Quartet No. 3) to 1945 (Piano Concerto No. 3).

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 18, 2019

  • Catalog Number: ORF-MP1803

  • UPC: 4001790180312

  • Label: ORFEO

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Béla Bartók

  • Conductor: Sándor Végh

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Camerata Salzburg, Wiener Symphoniker, Végh Quartet, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

  • Performer: Annie Fischer, Rafael Kubelík, György Sándor, Ferenc Fricsay