Beethoven: The Piano Concertos / Buchbinder, Vienna Philharmonic

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Rudolf Buchbinder offers the definitive interpretation of all of Beethoven’s piano concertos on Beethoven: The Piano Concertos. Recorded live in the legendary concert hall of Vienna’s Musikverein in May 2011, Buchbinder conducted the Vienna Philharmonic from the piano, just as Beethoven himself did at his first performances. “For me this is like chamber music on a larger scale,” says Buchbinder, who is much too fond of playing the piano to switch to the conductor’s baton. The recordings reflect Buchbinder’s wealth of experience with these works as much as they do his spontaneity and unbroken fascination with Beethoven, whom Buchbinder believes to be “by far the most Romantic of all composers.”

Rudolf Buchbinder is firmly established as one of the most important pianists on the international scene. He has over 100 recordings to his credit, including the complete Beethoven concertos, the complete Mozart piano concertos, all of Haydn’s works for piano and both Brahms concertos. Buchbinder is a regular guest of such renowned orchestras as the Berlin Philharmonic, Vienna Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic, Orchestra National de France, London Philharmonic, National Symphony, and the Philadelphia Orchestra.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 88883745212

  • UPC: 888837452120

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Rudolf Buchbinder

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Rudolf Buchbinder