Berg: Wozzeck / Albrecht, Dutch National Opera, Netherlands Philharmonic [Blu-ray]

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This Blu-ray Disc is only playable on Blu-ray Disc players and not compatible with standard DVD players.

Also available on standard DVD

Based on real events and drawing on Georg Büchner’s revolutionary play, Alban Berg’s Wozzeck turns a grimly tragic narrative of violence and murder into one of the most powerful and original operas of the 20th century. Berg’s uncompromising portrayal of brutality and madness generated much controversy, but the significance of Wozzeck was soon recognised; its compelling lyrical expansiveness, large-scale dramatic gestures and remarkable musical structures producing music of overwhelming emotional intensity. The Financial Times declared this to be "a beautiful, moving, engrossing production… this is a consummate Wozzeck, blending clarity, lyricism, compassion and crushing force."



Marc Albrecht embeds Wozzeck within a lineage of lyrically sprung, dance-driven operas from Weber’s Oberon to Der Rosenkavalier, taking in Lortzing and Die Fledermaus along the way. The singing is accomplished with style, especially the astonishingly secure Captain of Marcel Beekman and the engagingly sinister comic turn of Willard White as the Doctor. Even were it not among the most beautifully played and sung accounts on record and film, this Wozzeck would command attention for Krzysztof Warlikowski’s staging.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 09, 2018

  • Catalog Number: NBD0081V

  • UPC: 730099008167

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Alban Berg

  • Conductor: Marc Albrecht

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Dutch National Opera Chorus, Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, New Amsterdam Children's Chorus

  • Performer: Christopher Maltman, Eva-Maria Westbroek, Frank van Aken, Jason Bridges, Marcel Beekman, Scott Wilde, Ursula Hesse von den Steinen, Willard White


  1. Wozzeck, Op. 7

    Composer: Alban Berg

    Ensemble: Dutch National Opera Chorus, Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, New Amsterdam Children's Chorus

    Performer: Marcel Beekman (Tenor), Jason Bridges (Tenor), Christopher Maltman (Baritone), Ursula Hesse von den Steinen (Mezzo Soprano), Frank van Aken (Tenor), Eva-Maria Westbroek (Soprano), Willard White (Bass), Scott Wilde (Bass)

    Conductor: Marc Albrecht