Brahms: Orchestral Works / Dausgaard, Swedish Chamber Orchestra - ArkivMusic

Brahms: Orchestral Works / Dausgaard, Swedish Chamber Orchestra

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This boxed set brings together Thomas Dausgaard and the Swedish Chamber Orchestra’s cycle of Brahms’ symphonies, originally released as four separate discs. Each symphony is coupled with carefully selected works to provide a well-rounded idea of the composer’s orchestral output.

Favorites such as the two concert overtures are included – the laughing and the weeping one, to paraphrase Brahms himself – as well as the beloved Haydn Variations (on a theme likely not by Haydn at all…). Another perennial favorite is the Alto Rhapsody, here with Anna Larsson singing the solo part, but there are also less-heard works – Brahms’s orchestrations of his own Liebeslieder-Walzer for instance, and of six songs by Schubert.

Throughout the set, the composer’s Hungarian Dances run like a thread. Brahms's orchestrations of Nos. 1, 3 and 10 have pride of place on disc 1, with the remaining 18, in much praised orchestral versions by Dausgaard, spread over the remaining three discs. In reviews of the individual discs, critics used words such as ‘freshness’, ‘transparency’, and ‘urgency’ to describe the performances, with Fanfare expressing pleasure at hearing ‘Brahms from the edge of one's seat’.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: BIS-2556

  • UPC: 7318599925561

  • Label: BIS

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms

  • Conductor: Thomas Dausgaard