Busoni: Piano Music, Vol. 10 / Harden

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Busoni embodied an essentially recreative approach to the music of the past. His Bach transcriptions reveal an absolute command of intricate polyphony and a limpid clarity. Mozart stood as an aesthetic and technical exemplar while Cramer’s little-known Etudes are adapted for modern piano technique. Busoni preserved the Lutheran austerity of Brahms’s Chorale Preludes for Organ, Op. 122 whereas in the Mephisto Waltz No. 1 he augments Liszt’s heady writing with a super-virtuosity of his own. Wolf Harden I one of the most versatile pianists of his generation. He has enjoyed great success in the Trio Fontenay, an ensemble that he founded in 1980 and with which he has toured to all the world’s major music centres. Harden devotes himself not only to chamber music but, with the same success, to the solo piano repertoire.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 09, 2018

  • Catalog Number: 8573806

  • UPC: 747313380671

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ferruccio Busoni, Franz Liszt, Johannes Brahms

  • Performer: Wolf Harden