Farrenc: Symphony No. 1 & Overtures / Konig, Luxembourg Solistes Europeens

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Louise Farrenc was renowned in her lifetime as a pianist, composer and teacher, but it is only recently that her compositions have emerged from many years of neglect, Symphony No. 1 in C minor- cast in the German tradition- is an exceptionally accomplished work, finely orchestrated, lyrical and fiery, and a substantial contribution to the canon. The Grand Variations on a Theme by Count Gallenberg is a showcase for virtuosic elegance, and the two overtures demonstrate real theatrical drama- Overture No. 2 was admired by no less a figure than Hector Berlioz.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 14, 2020

  • Catalog Number: 8574094

  • UPC: 747313409471

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Louise Farrenc

  • Conductor: Christoph Konig

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Luxembourg Solistes Européens