Farrenc & R. Schumann: 3rd Symphonies / Ward, Philzuid

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Philzuid's sixth album includes works by Louise Farrenc and Robert Schumann. This brave and welcome attempt to rewrite or at least re-evaluate music history features live recordings of Louise Farrenc's Third Symphony and Robert Schumann's Third (Rhenish) Symphony under chief conductor Duncan Ward. Female composers in the 19th century were not expected to pursue a career, let alone compete with the great symphonists of the period; Schumann, however, had all eyes and ears on him whenever he premiered a new work or took up a new position.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 10, 2024

  • Catalog Number: FUG824

  • UPC: 5400439008243

  • Label: Fuga Libera

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Louise Farrenc, Robert Schumann

  • Conductor: Duncan Ward

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Philzuid

  • Performer: Duncan Ward