He's A Jelly Roll Baker / Lonnie Johnson

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Track Listing
1. Why Women Go Wrong
2. Nothing But a Rat
3. Jersey Belle Blues
4. Loveless Blues, The
5. I'm Just Dumb
6. Get Yourself Together
7. Crowing Rooster Blues
8. That's Love
9. Somebody's Got to Go
10. Lazy Woman Blues
11. Chicago Blues
12. I Did All I Could
13. In Love Again
14. Last Call, The
15. Rambler's Blues
16. Baby, Remember Me
17. He's a Jelly Roll Baker
18. When You Feel Low Down
19. Victim of Love, The
20. Watch Shorty

Recorded at RCA Recording Studios, Chicago from 1939 to 1944. Includes liner notes by Billy Altman.

Digitally remastered by Jay Newland (June 1992, BMG Studios, New York City).

All songs written by Lonnie Johnson.

Personnel: Lonnie Johnson (vocals, guitar); Joshua Altheimer, Lil Armstrong, Blind John Davis (piano).

Liner Note Author: Billy Altman.

Recording information: 11/02/1939-12/14/1944.

Illustrator: Jacqueline Murphy.

This 20-song collection covers 1930s and '40s material in which Johnson primarily performs blues tunes, doing salty, sassy, mournful, and suggestive numbers in a distinctive, memorable fashion. His vocals on "Rambler's Blues," "In Love Again," the title cut, and several others, are framed by brilliant, creative playing and excellent support from such pianists as Blind John Davis, Lil Hardin Armstrong, and Joshua Altheimer. This is tight, intuitive music in which Johnson set the tone and dominated the songs. If you're unaware of Lonnie Johnson's brilliant blues material, here's an excellent introduction.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 13, 2010

  • Catalog Number: RCA66064

  • UPC: 078636606422

  • Label: RCA

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Lonnie Johnson

  • Performer: Alfred Elkins, Andrew Harris, John Davis, Joshua Altheimer, Lil Armstrong, Lonnie Johnson, Ransom Knowling